Connect with us

High School

Bulls Charge to DV Championship 



Official Box Score 

Sean Wohlgemuth made 16 saves on as many shots as the young goaltender backstopped the Smithtown Hauppauge Bulls to a 5-0 shutout victory over the DV Finals over the Longwood Lions. The young tendy, better known to teammates and coaches as Woogy, was named the LISN DV Playoffs MVP. Woogy didn’t do it alone. 

They say offense wins games, but defense wins championships. Defenseman Sean Prizgint II scored the game winner in an outstanding two-way performance for Smithtown Hauppauge. Prizgint II was the first of four Bulls blue liners to score in the game. Connor Krikau netted a shorty in the final minute of the opening frame, Brennan Parker potted a power play goal at the start of the second stanza and Matt Ackerman’s dagger in the 3rd period silenced Longwood’s late comeback attempt. John Ferraro was the lone Bulls forward to find the back of the net with a marker in the second stanza. 

Ryan Ailman made 22 stops on 27 shots in a stellar outing for the Longwood Lions. The promising keeper made several big stops early on including a key save on a shot from the slot by Vinny Sellito in the opening frame. The Lions saw strong performances Cesar Aravena and Giovanni Ciprianni that boasts a strong forward core. Unfortunately for the Longwood Lions, the Smithtown Hauppauge Bulls created significant traffic in front of the net while also capitalizing on special teams. 

Sean Prizgint II put the Bulls on the board with 2:55 remaining in the 1st period. The Bulls blue liner went top cheddar from center point after a face off win by Vinny Sellito. Charlie Krikau beat the goaltender glove side high on a shot from the left point with 30 seconds left in the opening frame to extend the Smithtown Hauppauge lead to 2-0. Shots were 8-1 in favor of the Bulls as Smithtown Hauppauge led 2-0 after one. 

Brennan Parker scored a power play goal 42 seconds into the 2nd period to extend the lead to three. Parker took a shot from the top of the right wing dot that was redirected off the stick of a defender and past the Lions netminder. John Ferraro buried a rebound to make it a four goal game with 10:01 remaining. Luke Jarrett set up shop in Gretzky’s office, sent the puck across the blue paint, and Ferraro poked it home after Ailman made two stops. Longwood tried to answer back with a strong shift after the Bulls fourth goal of the game, but Sean Wohlgemuth came up clutch with two big saves. Woogy made a big pad stop on a 1 on 0 by Joe Orenzo before stonewalling Nick Shepherd on a rebound opportunity. Smithtown Hauppauge outshot Longwood 15-9 in the frame and led 4-0 after two. 

Ryan Ailman made a couple key saves as the Bulls kept the Lions hemmed in their own zone. The Lions goalkeeper made a key glove stop on a 1 on 0 by Matt Benstock. The relief was short lived as the Bulls capitalized off the ensuing face off to jump out to a 5-0 courtesy of Matt Ackerman with 3:31 left in the 3rd period. John Ferraro won the draw back to Mason Nasta, who moved it D-to-D for Ackerman to fire a shot that beat the netminder through traffic. The Bulls outshot the Lions 6-4 in the 3rd period and 27-16 in the game as they pulled away with a 5-0 victory in the Championship game

Three Stars of the Game

RankStarsStat LineAnalysis
1stSean Wohlgemuth16 Saves, ShutoutWoogy was a brick wall in the Bulls shutout victory with 16 saves on as many shots
2ndSean Prizgint IIGWGScored the game winner in an impressive performance for the do it all defenseman
3rdVinny Sellito2ATallied two points in a strong two-hundred foot performance for the Bulls center

Congratulations to #1 Colin Juarbe, #3 Joe Jaquillard, #6 Brennan Parker, #11 Matt Bennstock, #26 Vinny Sellito, #27 Jake Hayes, #40 Sean Wohlgemuth, #41 Mason Nasta, #42 Alexander Losito, #49 Luke Jarrett, #53 Joe Costa, #56 Matt Ackerman, #60 Sean Prizgint II, #68 Connor Krikau, #73 Alexander Vachula, #74 Gavin McCormack, #78 Drew Katchen, #81 Ryan Leicht, #89 John Mills and #95 John Ferraro on winning the 2024 SCHSHL DV Championship. We would also like to congratulate Bulls Head Coach Jeff Lackowitz as well as Assistant Coaches Bryan Krikau, Brian Canny, and Paul Arrezi.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply