Connect with us

High School

Sachem Scores Golden Goal With 20.9 Seconds Left To Win Freshman Chip 



Official Box Score

Justin Horrmann scored the game winning goal on the power play with 20.9 seconds remaining in regulation to lift the Sachem Warriors to a Freshman Championship over the East Islip Chiefs 6-5. Roman Cruz and Will Trapani were named the LISN Co-MVP’s of the Freshman Finals. Cruz scored five goals in game 1 and added a sixth in game 2. Will Trapani scored two goals and an assist in both games for a total of six points.  

Joe Violente made 15 saves on 20 shots for the Warriors. Dylan Simone scored an unassisted goal and added two helpers. Roman Cruz and Ryan Rutigliano scored unassisted goals for Sachem.

Joe Sasso made 40 stops on 45 shots for the East Islip Chiefs. Landon Musumeci scored three unassisted goals, including one on the power play, to complete the hat-trick. Collin Inga and Matt Aichroth found the back of the net for the Chiefs. 

Will Trapani opened the scoring with 11:15 remaining in the 1st period. Trapani split the defense and went top cheddar on a breakaway. Sachem outshot EI 17-4 in the opening frame, but Joe Sasso made 16 saves to keep the game within one. 

Landon Musumeci tied the game with a power play marker that came with 13:03 remaining in the second stanza. Musumeci went end-to-end before rifling one five-hole to beat the goaltender. Roman Cruz scored with 7:41 left in the second frame to put Sachem back up by one.  A fanned shot at the point led to Cruz collecting the loose puck, wheeling up ice as he dangled through three EI sweaters to snipe glove side high. Sachem went up 3-1 with 2:46 remaining in the 2nd period as Will Trapani redirected one past the tendy off a feed from Jack Mitchell. Just 24 seconds later, 

Collin Inga made it a one goal game for EI. Jack Fontaine entered the zone, made a no-look behind the back pass for Inga who ripped stick side high on a 1 on 0. Landon Musumeci tied it at 3-3 with 1:10 remaining in the second frame. Musumeci forced a turnover, beat the defender to the outside to create a 1 on 0 and fired a shot that slipped beneath the blocker of the goaltender. Sachem outshot EI 12-7 in the 2nd period. 

19 seconds into the 3rd period, Landon Musumeci completed the hat-trick to give EI their first lead of the series. Musumeci dumped the puck in on a 2 on 1, it took a fortuitous bounce off the linesman, and the EI forward recollected it before sniping stick side high. The EI lead held for just 3:01 as Dylan Simone potted an unassisted goal for Sachem. Simone collected a rebound to the right of Sasso, rolled off the wall towards the slot and fired a shot that beat the goaltender stick side. Sachem went up 5-4 courtesy of Ryan Rutigliano with 9:44 left in the third frame. Rutigliano carried the puck right-to-left before sniping stick side high. 

17 seconds later, Matt Aichroth tied the game for the Chiefs. Jordan Haines entered the zone and fired a shot from the halfwall that Aichroth deflected home. After drawing a power play with under a minute remaining, Justin Horrmann scored the golden goal for Sachem. Dylan Simone won the draw to Will Trapani who moved it over to Horrmann for a one-time clapper to win it. Sachem outshot EI 14-9 in the period for a total of 43-20 in the game. 

Three Stars Of The Game

#StarStat LinePerformance Summary
1stWill Trapani2 Goals, 1 AssistTrapani scored two goals in a three point performance
2ndDylan Simone1 Goal, 2 Assists Simone netted an unassisted goal and added two assists
3rdJustin HorrmannGame Winning Power Play GoalScored the golden goal with 20.9 seconds remaining to win the game

Congratulations to #00 Patrick Loeb, #3 Cole Kalberer, #4 Matt Lengyel Jr., #6 Zach Hesse, #28 Justin Horrmann, #30 James Boutgoin, #38 Jack Mitchell, #39 Roman Cruz, #43 Joe Ilg, #44 Jackson Kreush, #45 Ryan Rutigliano, #50 Joe Violante, #67 Vinny Manetta, #68 Andrew Gandolfo, #74 Anthony Portanova, #83 Will Trapani, #90 Anthony Trama, #92 Sean Feeley, #93 Dylan Simone, #94 Ryan Palladino and #97 Hunter DiPeri on winning the 2024 SCHSHL Freshman Championship. We would also like to congratulate Head Coach David Wertz as well as Assistant Coaches Chris Simone, Will Trapani and Walter Mitchell III.

Special thanks to SCHSHL President Charlie Venticinque for making another great season possible. We would also like to extend our thanks to all the coaches, league officials, players and referees who have contributed to our broadcasts year after year. We will see you next season!

Continue Reading
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply